Michigan DUI Handbook
Michigan OWI First Offense Penalties
Most people in Michigan are charged with Operating While Intoxicated (OWI) as a first offense. This charge can include Unlawful Bodily Alcohol Level – UBAL which means the prosecutor simply has to prove beyond a reasonable doubt that your blood alcohol level was .08 or higher at the time of the driving. This makes it much easier for them as they do not have to prove bad driving. It makes challenging the testing done in the case even that more important.
Tell Us About Your Case
Michigan DUI First Offense Consequences
The penalties for a first offense drunk driving conviction in Michigan are harsh. While it may be rare for individuals to see any additional jail time if convicted, this will really depend upon your individual driving record and history of ANY alcohol offenses. This can include any juvenile offenses for Minor in Possession of Alcohol and could even include diversion programs that have been successfully completed. Remember that the district court judges have a large range of discretion at sentencing and an OWI conviction carries with it a maximum possible jail sentence of 93 days.
If you are convicted you face the following maximum penalties:
- Up to 93 days in jail
- a fine of $100–$500, and/or community service up to 360 hours
- permissive vehicle immobilization up to 180 days. MCL 257.625(9)(a), .904d(1)(a). If a defendant is imprisoned for the violation for which immobilization is ordered, the period of immobilization begins at the end of the period of imprisonment. MCL 257.904d(6)
- Effective October 31, 2010, for conviction for a super drunk driving offense (BAC of .17 or more), up to 180 days in jail and a fine of $200–$700. MCL 257.625(9)(a), as amended by 2008 PA 463
- Driver’s license suspension for 30 days, followed by license restrictions for 150 daysSix points added to driving record.
- Driver Responsibility Fee: $1,000 for 2 consecutive years for OWI.$500 for 2 consecutive years for OWPD
Free Michigan DUI Consultation
Get a risk free, no obligation review of your DUI case from an attorney that concentrates their practice on Michigan DUI defense.
During this free telephone consultation, you will find out the following:
- A detailed overview of the court process in your jurisdiction
- Exactly how much your DUI defense will cost
- Why our law firm is uniquely qualified to handle your DUI case
Call our Michigan DUI Hotline at (616) 502-1646
MIP Conviction No Big Deal?…Try Losing a $70,000 a Year Job!
There are still attorneys that do not take MIP cases seriously and provide an aggressive defense. There is also a misconception among young people that getting an MIP case in college is no big deal and will not have any affect on their future. This is simply dead...
Two Excessive Noise Warrants Questioned in Kalamazoo and Cases Dismissed!
If you have had the pleasure of being at a party that has had a visit by the police, you know that most of the time they will knock on the door and ask everyone to keep it down. This usually occurs after angry neighbors trying to get some sleep get fed up and call the...
MIP Convictions Beware…You Can Still Only Expunge ONE Conviction
MCL 780.621 Setting Aside Convictions Many lawyers cheered when the legislature changed the Expungment statute to allow for a person to have two convictions and still be eligible to set aside a conviction. However, many attorneys may have misinterpreted this statute...
Get In Touch
821 West Savidge St. Spring Lake, MI 49456